Users who have the "Job Template Creation” permission enabled can edit the Job Description of a posted job. Without that permission enabled, users assigned to the job as a member of the hiring team will have view-only access to the job details. Editing the Job Description of a live job posting will change only the job being edited. It will not update the Job Description content in the library and any future changes made in the library will no longer affect this job description. To permanently change the Job Description for future postings, you must change the job description in the Job Description Library.
Once edited, the changes will cascade to all system locations that reference the Job Description and the updates will be reflected on your Career Site immediately. Existing candidates in the applicant queue for the job you have edited will not be made aware of the changes. The change should show up on job boards later the same day or the following day after both KeldairHR and the job boards refresh their system data (which happens at multiple intervals throughout the day). The job boards will retain the original posted date and job ID (i.e., the edited jobs are not renewed like a job with AutoRefresh enabled).
Follow these steps to edit a Job Description for a posted job:
- Select Jobs from the menu and open a job by clicking the Job Title.
- Click on the Job Details tab.
- Select Step #1 Information Elements.
- Click Edit for the Job Description.
- Make changes using the text editor and confirm by clicking SAVE.
The changes will be live for applicants immediately. Clicking the See Job from Applicant's View button will display your updates and show the application from an applicant's perspective. When updates are made to the Job Description, the action will be logged in the Job History tab as "Information Element edited" with the date, time, and name of the editor.
Note: If system settings that determine what is required in a job have been changed after the job was originally posted, you may need to make a selection from these required options before your changes can be saved.