AutoRefresh is a favorite customer feature since it will bring your jobs back to the top of the job boards automatically every 30 days, for a total of 2 refresh cycles. After a job's final AutoRefresh cycle, the position will remain Posted, however, it will fade to the bottom of the job boards leading to more difficulties being found by applicants. AutoRefresh was designed this way is to prevent jobs from becoming “evergreen,” which is a job that is indefinitely posted. This helps avoid any issues with the automatic feeds that we provide to the job boards.
Example of how AutoFresh will work:
- September 1st: Job is posted
- October 1st: Job will AutoRefresh and appear as 1 day old
- October 31st: Job will AutoRefresh and appear as 1 day old
- November 30th: Job will remain posted and appear as 31 days old
Note: Some months have 31 days, so the AutoRefresh cycle might not always appear on the same day each month.
AutoRefresh was designed to prevent jobs from becoming “evergreen,” which is a job that is indefinitely posted. This helps avoid any issues with your site’s automatic feeds that we provide to the job boards. In your hiring system, the day the Job was originally posted will show on the Jobs tab, under the "Posted Date" column. Clicking the "Posted Date" header will sort the column in descending order from the oldest jobs. For any jobs with the AutoRefresh icon, hovering over the date will display details of when the job last refreshed. You can then review your jobs to see which ones are beyond the day the job last refreshed.
If applicants are still being processed for a job that needs to be refreshed after AutoRefresh has expired, Pause the job, temporarily removing it from job boards and your careers site and repost a fresh template. This will allow time for the hiring team to continue processing existing applicants while recruiting new applicants. It’s recommended that jobs remain "Paused" temporarily for applicant processing, not indefinitely.
If you still need to recruiting for a job after AutoRefresh has expired or a Paused position no longer has remaining applicants fit for the position, it’s best practice to Close the job. This will unpost the position from the job boards and Archive both the job and its applicants. At the time of closing, you will naturally be able to move applicants that you are not interested in to the Archive. Recruiting can begin again with a fresh job posting, in which you can then start the AutoRefresh cycle again. This process will not only help you update your job description periodically but also helps keep your system up to date.
Applicants and job templates are never deleted when you Pause a job or Close a job so you will always have access to this information for review later or to post a new job. Every applicant can be found in Talent (or within the job to which they applied in the Archive) and the job template will remain in the Job Templates tab.